A Bit of a Hitch

I started work on my next project today for Psalm 46, when I ran into a bit of a dilemma.  What translation to use?  I grew up with the NIV (the 1984 edition) and I use that for my personal Bible study.  I like its readability and modern sound.  However, I’d rather not have Zondervan’s lawyers swoop down on me and sue me (especially since I have no money).  That leaves me at the KJV.  Yes, I know there are several other translations that are public domain but they just don’t have the KJV’s classic sound.  But I don’t know if I really want to use the KJV because I’m looking for something a little more modern but I don’t have the money to buy a license from Zondervan.  

I could have my husband translate it from the original Greek/Hebrew and then put that into the work.  And there is one more modern translation I’m looking at possibly using, if I can get a hold of the copyright holder.  We shall see.  Until then, there may be a bit of a delay on my next pattern until I figure that out.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. FP
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 21:03:43

    Are you kidding? If you stitch a verse from NIV, Zondervan will claim copyright violation? Wow, what is the world coming to?

    Reply

    • solascripturaneedlework
      Aug 26, 2012 @ 22:55:32

      Well, their website is a bit confusing. If I read it correctly, I can use a certain percentage of verses if the pattern is free as long as I put on the proper copyright disclaimer on it. If I actually start charging for patterns, I will have to buy a license or use a different translation. I can’t afford a copyright legal battle so I’m just being cautious.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

